2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
52 members (bcalvanese, AlkansBookcase, Adam Reynolds, cascadia, ChickenBrother, Carey, accordeur, 1957, 10 invisible), 2,129 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2349112 11/12/14 01:35 PM
J
OP Offline
J
Hello all,

Sorry to start another Rach 2 thread but so many of the others are very old or the discussion has moved away from the topic.

Some background, I completed my piano performance degree in 02 and now just play to unwind. I don't have any coach or teacher, but usually don't have many questions about what I'm playing but I'd appreciate some knowledgeable opinions.

In the first movement, after rehearsal mark 8, at the Piu Vivo, there's the recurring two quarter note phrases following the double or triple octaves. Omitting the sixteenths for a moment, I've been playing this left hand 1, right hand 1. However, watching a performance, it looked like the pianist was using just the right hand for the held quarters. I tried it out and could play it either way I think, but I'd like to know what others who are or have worked on the piece are doing.

Sorry if my description is confusing.

H
6000 Post Club Member
Online Content
6000 Post Club Member
H
I bet he is cutting those double/triple octaves short in a hurry to reach for the quarter, or giving a slight gap before reaching for the quarter.

N
N
is this the section you are talking about?

I use my right hand, now that I think about it. That said perhaps having the left hand play these notes would make both melodies sing out more.

[Linked Image]