2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
67 members (20/20 Vision, bcalvanese, booms, Cominut, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, crab89, AlkansBookcase, 11 invisible), 2,009 guests, and 293 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2360780 12/12/14 01:21 AM
M
mek42 Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Is there any harm in making a copy of a piece not in C (or Am) and highlighting the notes that are black keys? I'm a rank beginner, just added B in the Alfred All-in-One at page 35.

Any other suggestions on learning the black keys?

T
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
T
Go right ahead and highlight them And don't feel a shred of guilt when you do it.

I have three degrees and have taught music for forty years ... and if you look at my scores, you will see many notes marked in. Sometimes a "brain bug" causes me to miss a note and I pencil it in. Sometimes there's an unusual hand position and I add a warning arrow.

The most important trick to learning a piece of music quickly is to NEVER play a wrong not nor use an incorrect finger from the first time you play it. This may mean playing it very slowly ... but DO it. And if a few highlights help you, go for it.

See my site for the " Best Learning Trick Ever" ... there's even a reminder chart to print out for students.

http://www.thehappypianoprofessor.wordpress.com

4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
I thought those black ones were just to stop the white ones from rubbing together.

Currently working towards "Twinkle twinkle little star"
A
A