2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
27 members (Burkhard, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, cmoody31, dh371, 20/20 Vision, admodios, clothearednincompo, 6 invisible), 1,217 guests, and 325 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2605007 01/16/17 03:03 PM
W
OP Offline
W
New beginner here, and I'm very excited to get started. MY only Piano experience is the old spinet our family inherited from grandma when I was young (Late 70's) I loved to fool around on it, but never got serious as I was a "Guitar guy". No that's wrong, I wanted to be a guitar guy. After 25 years of effort I've decided I picked the wrong instrument.I love the guitar, but honestly, it never felt right in my hands. Strangely when I banged on the old spinet, it felt right! Even though nothing really made since on the guitar, I somehow figured out many of the common piano chords on the spinet.Again, that was years ago. I last played it about 97, and it's since been sold.

So 25 years later I want to learn keybords / Piano. Main interests are older rock, and pop classics, but I do love the nice classical pieces for piano. I will be self teaching (I know...) for now, I've ordered book 1 of Alfred's AIO method. But have already learned all my major / minor chords as well as some inversions. I've also been practicing c major scale runs.

I'm using a Roland FA-08 Synth with 88 weights keys. I've also picked up a Dave Smith OB-6, and a Moog synth. I don't have much love for upright Pianos, but would love a Grand one day if the room was available. As of now, I have much more equipment than talent / knowledge.